Housing  

RSS

Moonwolf
(@ozzy)
01/03/2018 8:09 pm  

Hi everybody, 

I am new to this site, and would like some advice if anyone can give it. I'm a veteran of N.I and the Falklands, and 5 years ago I was finally allocated a 2 bedroomed house for myself and my wife. This was allocated to me after being on the list for many years, and due to my illness and PTSD. I was living in Banbury at the time, and we moved to West Haddon about 20 miles away. I wasn't going to turn that opportunity down after waiting for so long. Anyway, my wife is from Banbury and we have an opportunity to swap like for like and go home to Banbury. Now, the crux of the matter, is the housing company are refusing the swap, as they say we don't need a 2 bedroomed house. Yet, I was given one only 5 years ago. Without going into too much info, I have flashbacks every day, nightmares about 3 times a week, and when this happens, I soak the bed in sweat. Then there is my illness, which requires Morphine, and Hydroxochloroquine, among others to control the pain etc. Hence, I have to sleep in a seperate room. 

Is there anything I can do, or anyone I can talk to, to try and resolve this issue?

I am sorry to have to ask this on my first post, but my wife is very anxious now, and any advice would be gratefully received.

Many thanks

Gary

Ski and Jamie R Kennedy liked
ReplyQuote
Jamie R Kennedy
(@jamie-r-kennedy)
Founder & Co-Director at Veterans Network Admin
01/03/2018 8:46 pm  

Evening Gary, firstly, don't ever be sorry for reaching out for support.  That's what Veterans Network is here for, for Veterans to support each other. 

I personally have no experience in your issue, however, let's try and see what other Veterans have to say. 

Bare with us and we will seek some advice. 

Jamie R Kennedy

Ski and Moonwolf liked
ReplyQuote
Ski
 Ski
(@marcus)
03/03/2018 1:55 pm  

Hi Gary,

A very dear friend of mine saw your post and asked me to pass this on to you: